Wahlverwandtschaft

Under the heading Wahlverwandtschaft (elective affinity), young Dutch designers present their concepts and projects.

The original scientific term Wahlverwandschaft is given to certain forms of reaction between chemical components, which, upon coming into contact with a newly-added element, relinquish an existing bond and form a new one with the new element.

Transferred to design, this refers to the unconventional additional of materials, an experimental combination of elements that initially appear to be uncombinable. It also implies the freely-chosen affinities of the designers, and the energies thereby created. The Dutch design scene seems noticeably intertwined and interlinked, but, as the exhibition shows, it is also full of individual creativity.

Yuya Ushida

yuya / Wahlverwandschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Isn’t decorating a room with flowers designing? Isn’t choosing the clothes you put on everyday designing? What is the exact occupation of people who are called designers?

Tim Vinke

Tim Vinke

Het Kruikantoor – this name is a combination of the words wheelbarrow and office. All interior elements can be combined, to which the object can be moved easily. Kruikantoor is a portable office made from EPS foam and covered with a coating of polyurea hotspray.

Sjoerd Vroonland

Sjoerd Vroonland / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Revised Craft is the newest collection by Dutch product designer Sjoerd Vroonland. When developing the series, Vroonland asks himself the questions: is a chair purely functional? Is it a showpiece with a visual story? Or is it an expression of technical know-how and therefore representative of its era?

Pepe Heykoop

Pepe Heykoop / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Pepe Heykoop presents new prototypes of his Stitch chairs and the Sputnik light. The Leather lampshades, of which he has recently setup a productionline in Mumbai are also represented, they support the Tinymiraclesfoundation which brings streetchildren to school.

Anna Ter Haar

a1

Cinderella’s Chair is a follow up of Anna Ter Haars project Buitenbeentje. Prostheses of glass, like a prosthetic leg, custom made for each chair. Glass is a malleable material when heated, so glass was blown onto the chair, providing every chair with its own unique Prosthesis.

David Derksen

David Derksen / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Construction and materials are David Derksen’s main sources of inspiration. He creates something new through unconventional applications. While the designs are not strictly functional, their appearances are directly connected to their construction. In this way he aims to express the beauty of the material and the way it is produced.

Erik Stehmann

Erik Stehmann / Designers Fair 2011

Dutch designer Erik Stehmann intends to make design more playful and dynamic, fascination for new materials and a craving for useless experiments are his major inspiration.

Danny Kuo

Danny Kuo / Designwalk / Designers Fair 2011

As a designer I believe in flexibility and adaptability. Technological advances have made us world citizens, making important changes in the way people live during the past 20 years. Whether it’s for leisure or work, people are increasingly mobile.

Amba Molly

Amba Molly / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

an products, like people, fertilise each other and grow into something new? Amba Molly has designed a system of moulds based on human cell division.

Klaas Kuiken

Klaas Kuiken / Designwalk / Designers Fair 2011

In 2010 Klaas Kuiken graduated from ArtEZ School of Arts in Arnhem (NL). During his graduation project he searched for irregularities in mass-produced products. Which he found in glass bottles. By heating and blowing these bottles one by one he makes them into unique objects.

Wahlverwandtschaft

Unter dem Titel Wahlverwandtschaft stellen junge niederländische Designer ihre Konzepte und Projekte vor.

Der ursprünglich wissenschaftliche Begriff Wahlverwandtschaft benennt bestimmte Reaktionsweisen chemischer Stoffe, die bei Kontakt mit neu hinzukommenden Elementen eine alte Verbindung aufgeben und mit anderen, neuen Elementen eine solche Wahlverwandtschaft eingehen.

Auf das Design übertragen meint Wahlverwandtschaft den unkonventionellen Materialeinsatz, das experimentelle Zusammenfügen von auf den ersten Blick nicht Kombinierbarem. Es meint aber auch die frei gewählten Beziehungen der Designer und die daraus erwachsenden Energien. Die niederländische Designszene erscheint als erkennbar untereinander verbunden, ist aber – wie die Ausstellung zeigt – voller individueller Kreativität.

Yuya Ushida

yuya / Wahlverwandschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Ist das Dekorieren eines Raumes nicht Design? Ist die tägliche Wahl der Kleidung nicht Design? Was genau machen Leute, die man Designer nennt? Wo sind die Grenzen zwischen Design und Kunst?

Tim Vinke

Tim Vinke

Der Name Het Kruikantoor ist eine Kombination der Wörter Schubkarre und Büro. Alle inneren Elemente können zusammengefügt und leicht bewegt werden.
Kruikantoor ist ein tragbares Büro aus EPS-Schaum und lackiert mit Polyurea-Heißspray. Das Büro, bestehend aus 2 Stühlen, einem Tisch, einer Lampe, Stromanschluss und Aufbewahrung, kann zu einer Einheit zusammengefügt oder zu einer kompletten Büroeinrichtung auseinander genommen werden.

Sjoerd Vroonland

Sjoerd Vroonland / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Revised Craft ist die neueste Kollektion des niederländischen Produktdesigners Sjoerd Vroonland. Die Entwicklung der Serie geht für Vroonland mit Fragen einher wie: Ist ein Stuhl ganz und gar funktional? Ist er ein Schaustück mit einer visuellen Geschichte? Oder ist er ein Ausdruck von technischem Know-How und damit repräsentativ für seine Zeit?

Pepe Heykoop

Pepe Heykoop / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Pepe Heykoop präsentiert neue Prototypen seiner Stühle aus der Serie Stitch und der Sputnik-Lampe. Außerdem werden die Leather Lampenschirme gezeigt, deren kürzlich in Mumbai eingerichtete Fertigungslinie die Tinymiraclesfoundation unterstützt, die Straßenkindern eine Schulausbildung ermöglicht.

Anna Ter Haar

a1

Cinderella’s Chair ist ein Folgeprojekt von Anna Ter Haars Buitenbeentje. Beinprothesen aus Glas wurden passend zu jedem Stuhl angefertigt. Das erhitzte, formbare Glas wurde über den jeweiligen Stuhl geblasen und so für jeden Stuhl eine eigene, einzigartige Prothese geschaffen.

David Derksen

David Derksen / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

Konstruktion und Material sind David Derksens Hauptinspirationsquellen. Durch unkonventionelle Verwendungen schafft er etwas Neues. Während das Design der Objekte nicht streng funktional ist, steht ihre Erscheinung in direktem Zusammenhang mit ihrer Konstruktion. Er möchte auf diese Weise die Schönheit des Materials sowie den Herstellungsprozess herausstellen.

Erik Stehmann

Erik Stehmann / Designers Fair 2011

Der niederländische Designer Erik Stehmann möchte Design spielerischer und dynamischer machen. Die Faszination neuer Materialien und die Lust am Durchführen nutzloser Experimente sind seine Hauptinspirationsquelle.

Danny Kuo

Danny Kuo / Designwalk / Designers Fair 2011

Als Designer glaube ich an Flexibilität und Anpassungsfähigkeit. Technologische Fortschritte haben uns zu Weltbürgern gemacht und auch die Art, wie wir wohnen in den letzten 20 Jahren entscheidend verändert. Ob in der Freizeit oder bei der Arbeit – die Menschen werden immer mobiler. Diese Mobilität verlangt uns Flexibilität und Anpassungsfähigkeit ab.

Amba Molly

Amba Molly / Wahlverwandtschaften / Designers Fair 2011

önnen Produkte, wie Menschen, einander befruchten und etwas Neues entstehen lassen? Amba Molly hat ein System von Gussformen erstellt, die auf menschlicher Zellteilung beruhen.

Klaas Kuiken

Klaas Kuiken / Designwalk / Designers Fair 2011

Klaas Kuiken graduierte in 2010 an der ArtEZ School of Arts in Arnheim, NL. In seiner Abschlussarbeit untersuchte er Unregelmäßigkeiten in Objekten aus Massenproduktion. Solche fand er bei Glasflaschen. Durch Erhitzen und Ausblasen verwandelt er diese Flaschen nach und nach in Unikate.